Configuration versioning and backup

Configuration versioning and backup

During setup of the system, BeoLiving Intelligence has a live configuration: every time the installer makes a change in any of the configuration screens, this change takes effect immediately. This configuration is called the current configuration.

An auto-save version of the configuration is also saved automatically whenever changes have been made.

You can save up to 10 revisions of the configuration, so you can recall a previous revision if necessary.

You can also download or upload a configuration to your computer for backup purposes.

All this functionality is available under the Configuration menu at the top right of the screen.

Revision history

BeoLiving Intelligence keeps a record of the last 10 configuration versions.

You can explicitly save a new version by selecting Configuration -> Save revision.

Every time you save your configuration, the following happens:

  1. You are prompted for a short description of this revision.
  2. The current configuration is copied to the head of the revision history.
  3. If the history already contained 10 revisions, the oldest revision is discarded, in order to leave space for the new revision.
  4. If there was an auto-save version, it is discarded.

So, if the system has the following revision history:

Rev Date saved Name
r1 Dec 20, 2013 9:31:59 AM Basic integration
r2 Dec 27, 2013 6:41:52 PM Macros for cinema mode
Jan 12, 2014 7:03:17 PM Auto save

After pressing SAVE, the current configuration will be copied into a new revision (rev 3 in this example), and the auto-save configuration will be discarded:

Rev Date saved Name
r1 Dec 20, 2013 9:31:59 AM Basic integration
r2 Dec 27, 2013 6:41:52 PM Macros for cinema mode
r3 Jan 12, 2014 7:05:25 PM Lighting scenes and automation

You need not save a revision for every change you make. Auto-save takes care of small changes (see below).

Use revisions for major changes that you may wish to revert as a group (by recalling a previous revision), or after a day’s work at the installation.

Also, saving (or auto saving) revisions serves as synchronization points for all the clients connected to the gateway. For example, when you are making changes and want to test them immediately on the BeoLiving App, you can press [Shift+Ctrl+S] to create an auto-save revision (see below).

Auto-save configuration

When you are making changes, BeoLiving Intelligence will automatically save a revision called auto-save configuration in the following situations:

  • If you have made changes and then you’ve been idle for 30 seconds, or
  • If you are still working on the configuration but there are unsaved changes for more than 5 minutes.

This means that while you are working on the current configuration, BeoLiving Intelligence will ensure that your recent changes will be periodically saved into the auto-save configuration.

An auto-save configuration can also be generated by selecting Quick save revision on the Configuration menu, or by pressing [Shift+Ctrl+S] while navigating the administration interface.

Remember that explicitly saving a new revision will remove the auto-save configuration, since the saved revision is up to date with the current configuration.

Restarting BeoLiving Intelligence

If BeoLiving Intelligence is restarted (for example, after a power failure), the configuration will be taken from the auto-save configuration if it exists, or else from the newest revision.

Therefore, if you are working on the configuration and there is a power cut, the most that you can lose are the latest 5 minutes of changes.

Recalling a saved revision

You can revert to any of the 10 saved revisions, or to the auto-save configuration.

Select Configuration --> Revision history and choose one of the revisions.

The selected revision will be copied into the current configuration, and become active immediately. It will be also saved as a new auto-save configuration, named appropriately.

Uploading a configuration from your computer

By selecting Configuration -> Load from file, you can upload a configuration into BeoLiving Intelligence.

This uploaded configuration will substitute the current configuration and become active immediately. It will be also saved as a new auto-save configuration named “Upload”.

Saving a revision to your computer

By selecting Configuration --> Download to file you can download the current configuration to you computer.

It is recommended that you take a copy of the configuration when leaving the installation:

  • It serves as a reference should the customer report a problem, or require help with the actual configuration.
  • It is a backup of your work in case BeoLiving Intelligence is damaged.